Terrace Station
  • Home
  • Visit Terrace Station
    • Open Garden Dates
    • Options for visitors
    • About the garden >
      • Articles about Terrace Station
    • The Woodland
    • Events
    • Map
  • History
    • The Homestead >
      • The 2010 Earthquake
    • The People of Terrace Station >
      • John Hall's Family Background
      • Rose, Lady Hall
      • George Williamson Hall
      • Thomas Williamson Hall
    • Farm buildings and the Woolshed >
      • The Manager's House
      • The Stinky
      • The Blacksmith's shop
      • The Swaggers' Hut
  • News
  • Support us
    • Volunteering
    • Make a donation
    • Leave a bequest
    • Our Supporters
  • Contact

Farm Buildings

A picture of the Swaggers Hut and stable
The swaggers' hut and stable
A picture of three dog kennels under trees with a paddock of grass behind
Dog kennels at Terrace Station
A picture of The Terrace Station woolshed
The Terrace Station woolshed

​The Woolshed

A picture of about 20 saddled horses tied around a sheep yard pen
Loading wool from the loft.
This farm building has a category 2 registration from Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. In the 19th century New Zealand’s prosperity was built on the sale of wool to England, so there is great significance to this building. Plans, which still exist in the Terrace Station Archives, were drawn up in 1867. It was built from native timbers milled at Little River. The timber was floated across Lake Ellesmere to Timber Yard Point from where bullock wagons carted it to Hororata. More than 100 trips, recorded in the station journal, were made between May and November 1868. Construction took place between 21 October and 27 December 1869, the builder being William Harrington. The original roofing was VDL shingles which were covered by corrugated iron in 1895. The building is approximately 38 metres long by 14 metres wide with a loft running the full length. A wool-room extends to the east out from the centre of the building and was extended by 3.6 metres in 1883. Initially there were stands for twenty shearers. In 1902 a Wolseley shearing plant was installed with stands for 16 shearers. A lean-to extension was added to the north side of the wool-room for the White stationery engine. In the 19th century the station was famous for the size and quality of the wool clip. The wool was shipped to England to be sold.

The flock on Rakaia Terrace Station was 30,000 Merinos at the beginning of the 1900s, and the shed could hold 1000 ewes. Two hundred bales of wool could be stored in the loft. A windlass was used to lift the bales of wool from the wool-room. This is still operational. 
Electricity came in 1930 with an electric motor installed ​to provide for six stands.​

A picture of the cover of the woolsheds book
Woolsheds - The historic shearing sheds of Aotearoa New Zealand
The Terrace Station woolshed is on the cover of this beautiful book, released in late 2024. Exquisitely photographed by Jane Ussher, with Annette O'Sullivan providing the story behind each building, Woolsheds takes readers to historic sheep stations in the North and South islands and explores the rich histories of this key primary industry that are contained in their heritage shearing sheds. 

From the oldest working woolshed in Mid Canterbury to woolsheds rebuilt after earthquakes, it is a celebration of the tenacity of the sheep-farming sector.

Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.